A quick note about our language

Three relationship types are at the centre of the Property (Relationships) Act 1976: marriages, civil unions and de facto relationships.

The Property (Relationships) Act 1976 uses the words ‘marriage’, ‘spouse’, ‘husband’ and ‘wife’; ‘civil union’ and ‘civil union partner’; and ‘de facto relationship’ and ‘de facto partner’.

We have tried to make things simpler. When we talk about the law we use the word ‘relationship’ to describe all three relationship types. We also use the word ‘partner’ to mean a spouse, civil union partner or de facto partner.

Sometimes we abbreviate the Property (Relationships) Act 1976 to the ‘PRA’.

What do you think?

[gravityform id=”28″ title=”false” description=”false”]


Print Friendly, PDF & Email